John Psathas – No Man's Land

Label: John Psathas
Original Release Date: January, 2018

Live cinematic concert and a future-length film. It’s a deeply moving multi-media work that spans generations, continents, cultures and beliefs, and reflects on the devastating impact and futility of war. Commissioned from John Psathas and Jasmine Millet, the No Man’s Land Project was premiered as a centrepiece of New Zealand’s First World War commemorations in 2016. 150 musicians descended from opposing forces of the Great War and filmed on significant battlefields around the world are projected alongside a live, seven-piece international ensemble featuring Stratis Psaradelis, Sofia Labropoulou, Caleb Robinson, Vangelis Karipis, Jolanta Kossakowska, Joe Callwood and James Illingworth. The musicians, both live and virtual, perform as one global orchestra to create an exhilarating and deeply moving visual and musical experience. George Kariotis (Sound Engineer) John Psathas (Composer/Producer)

Armenia/USA – Serj Tankian (Voice/Lyrics)
Australia – Joshua Hyde (Saxophone)
Bulgaria – Svet Stoyanov (Percussion)
France – Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, Pierre Mea (Organ); Monsieur Claude (Gregorian Chant recitation)
Germany – Alexej Gerassimez (Percussion); Benjamin Schafer (Percussion)
Greece – Stratis Psaradelis (Lyra); Vagelis Karipis (Percussion); Sofia Labropoulou (Kanun)
Hungary – Marta Sebestyen (Voice)
India – Meeta Pandit (Voice); Himanshu Dixit (Hindu Religious Recitation)
Iran/France – Bijan Chemirani (Percussion)
Italy – Paolo Cimmino (Percussion)
Japan – Renkei Hashimoto (Shakuhachi)
Morocco – Oum El Ghait Benessahraoui (Voice)
Netherlands/Belgium – Netherlands Blazers Ensemble (Wind and Brass)
New Zealand – Tecwyn Evans (Conductor); Hayden Chisholm (Saxophone, Bagpipes); Caleb Robinson (Bass); Ariana Tikao (Voice/Lyrics); The Nudge; Iraia Whakamoe (Drums); James Illingworth (Keys); Prebble (Guitar); James Coyle (Keyboards); Joe Callwood (Guitar); Jack Hooker (Guitar)
Pakistan/UK – Shahbaz Hussain (Tabla)
Palestine – Nawras Alhajibrahim (Bass); Yanal Staiti (Percussion)
Poland – Polish Radio Choir; Zofia Kolbe-Wojdyr (Gaida, Bagpipes); Jolanta Kossakowska (Voice, Violin); Mateusz Szemraj (Guitar)
Russia – Monseigneur Job (Russian Orthodox recitation)
Saudi Arabia – The Grand Mufti of the Grand Mosque, Paris (Islamic Recitation)
Scotland – David Ross (Percussion), David Henderson (Percussion)
Senegal – Fara Diouf (Djembe)
South Africa – Gareth Lubbe (Polyphonic Singing)
Sweden – Markus Johansson (Hang Drum)
Syria/Palestine – Refugees of Rap – Yaser Jamous, Mohammed Jamous (Rap)
Turkey – Derya Turkan (Kemence/Composer); Muhammet Sadrettin Ozcimi (Ney)
UK – Danny Cudd (Hang Drum); Simone Rebello (Percussion)
USA – Russel Walder (Composer); Michael Mandel (Hebrew Religious Recitation)